Blood Bag.

Posted: January 13, 2015 in FMP
Tags: , ,

Since I spent so much time sketching and haven’t had any experience using normal maps I decided to make a blood bag as the first 3D model for my fighting stage so I could get back into my work flow of modeling and practice normal mapping on something relatively simple. I started by creating a the shape of the blood bag (on the right) I then took the model and copied it and added a turbo smooth to make sure the shape was as smooth as possible (on the left).

Blood bag screen shot 3

With a high poly successfully created the next job was to make the original as low poly as possible without changing the overall shape to drastically. This allowed me to bake the smooth edges of the high poly onto the low poly as a normal map.

Blood bag screen shot 2

Render without normal map.

blood bag render no normal

Render with normal map – as you can see there is very little difference between the two besides the thickness of the outside band.

blood bag render normal

I then created a quick texture, the label can be swapped out easily so not every blood bag will be blood type AB.

blood bag render

variation is important as not all the blood bags would sit the same so I started distorting some of the edges to create some variation this is were the limitations of the low poly model start to show as it creates harsh diagonal lines in some areas, this is most noticeable looking at the label because the texture moves very sharply because of how few polys there are.

Blood bag screen shot 1

Overall I am happy with how the shape turned out however I want to go back and work on the texture as it is very bare bones and needs something to help make it pop and look like a bag of liquid. after putting them in the engine I noticed that the scale was slightly off and the bags were bigger then they should be so that is another minor issue to be resolved.

Leave a comment