Archive for May 8, 2015

Security Camera.

Posted: May 8, 2015 in FMP

I started by looking at security cameras till I found a shape that I linked.

Security_camera_01

 

I created the security camera in two pieces so the stand could be placed in a fixed position and then the head could be rotated to whatever position I wanted. I also added a small sphere and cut it in half, this will be an emissive red light.

FMP screenshot 7

FMP screenshot 6

FMP screenshot 5

FMP screenshot 4

FMP screenshot 3

FMP screenshot 2

TV monitors.

Posted: May 8, 2015 in FMP

Scan 42

FMP screenshot 8

I managed to set up video playing on the monitors and with blue print help from Phillip Maclennan and James cook managed to get them to display what the security camera is looking at. I plan to replace the place holder videos with static or different security camera feeds.

HighresScreenshot00002

Portfolio.

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Professional Practice

 

 

I have launched my portfolio site and will update with my final pieces if you are interested please visit my portfolio here.

Portfolio Screen

Cell Shading.

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

I mentioned previously that I wanted to use cell shading throughout my project but could not get my head around the material set up so I asked for help from my piers and James Cook set up the shader for me.

Before

HighresScreenshot00009

After

HighresScreenshot00006

Stair Cases.

Posted: May 8, 2015 in FMP

I started by looking at research images to give me an idea of how I wanted the stairs to look like I wanted something with glass panels and an I-beam running along the balcony.
balcony-2

 

I had two slight differences on my staircases one that was smooth sloped and one that stopped flat at every post, I liked both designs so I turned to my peers and asked which they thought was most aesthetically pleasing and the majority said that the stop and they picked the staircase that stopped flat at every post.

FMP screenshot 11

FMP screenshot 10

HighresScreenshot00011

Overall I like the staircase but feel that it could have been made a bit wider. I also feel the glass needs to be improved a lot as it does not look like glass. I plan to fix this by adding some transparency.

I started by looking at all of the different types of business cards available Swivel cards seem the best option because they are the first ever USB business card however they are too expensive for me to use effectively at this point in time. I also looked at wood engraved cards but again the cost was an issue in the end I decided to go with the luxe business cards from Moo. For my design I decided to keep them simple.

Busines Card Front

Busines Card Back blog

 

After deciding on what icons to use and some feedback I experimented with layout more.

Busines Card Back2 blog

Busines Card Back3 blog

 

Which a final design chosen I created the 300dpi version ready to print.

Busines Card Front 300dpi

Busines Card Back 300dpi blog

 

I am happy with the design and think it gets the job done effectively it was also pointed out to me that the blue is an easy colour to write on if I want to give any more information to someone when I hand them the card.

Books.

Posted: May 8, 2015 in FMP, Year 3 Client Project

HighresScreenshot00004

 

For the contents of the book I decided to go with old alchemy sketches. I chose these because of alchemy’s relations ship with science and the fact that the images are so old they are public domain. Using old images like these also made them relevant to the client project been able to exist in that time period and become assets that can cross between projects.

I Started by researching into spittoons and chamber pots to give me an idea of the shapes I needed.

51je+E451bL

 

chamber pot

I created both the spittoon and the chamber pot by extrude modeling.

Spitoon_Render

Once I was happy with how it looked I decided to make more damaged and warn.

Spitoon_Render_2

For the chamber pot I decided to add a lid and base plate which were part of the porcelain versions.

Chamberpot_Render_2

 

Chamberpot_Render

During the Easter brake I produced several models including the barbers, playing cards, poker chips, dice, sheets, signs, manure, footprint & hoof print decals.

I created the Barbers based off of concepts created by Scott Beach this allowed me to work to specifics instead of imagining what the building should look like and is a workflow that is much closer to industry, with a concept team sending work to the 3D team to create there concepts in a 3D space. I took some liberties with the design like adding the cross bars to the hand rails and opening up the area under the stairs so that assets could be placed underneath and act as a storage area.

Barbers

Progress over easter screen 3

Progress over easter screen 2

Progress over easter screen 1

Progress over easter screen 10

Progress over easter screen 4

Progress over easter screen 5

Progress over easter screen 9

Progress over easter screen 8

Progress over easter screen 7

Progress over easter screen 6

I created the hoof prints and foot prints to help address the fact that the roads felt too new and unused they worked fine as a decal stamp however the slight difference in colour between the decals and the soil is noticeable. I managed to get around this by setting each decal as a normal map so it would add the lighting information to the ground and give the effect that the soil has been bumped up looking more natural.

foot prints normal

 

HighresScreenshot00092